Fifth Period Lunch

Trading carrots for chocolate pudding since 2012

Sift Through the Brainstorm Debris – 10.23.12

(By TheWayIsHere)

I decided it wasn’t fair for YetiVedder to have all the bullet-point fun, so I reckon I’ll join in on the fad.

What will you find in this weekly list? I have no freaking clue, but I’m sure it will all be deep and profound.

* My wife always yells at me because I use her towel to dry my arm pits after showering. She does realize that my arm pits are clean, right?

* It’s a sad state of affairs for the two FBS football teams in the state of Massachusetts. Boston College is 0-4 in the ACC and 1-6 overall. UMass is 0-4 in the MAAC and 0-7 overall. According to RealTimeRPI.com, Boston College is ranked 110 out of 120 FBS teams. UMass? Ranked 120. Ouch.

* I keep getting random emails from JDate, which is apparently a Match.com site for Jewish people. I am neither Jewish nor single, sooo…

* If somebody was smart, they’d create a PoliticalBook for election years. It’s the same basic concept as Facebook, except all of those annoying assholes who fill up your news feed with political posts will have a place to do it where people actually care. It’s a surefire get-rich-quick scheme. You’re welcome.

* Yeti Vedder was sick yesterday, ladies and gentlemen. I want everybody to pray for his return to health.

* I absolutely love that Marco Scutaro was named the National League Championship Series MVP. Scooter, as I like to call him, was one of only a handful of Boston Red Sox who seemed to care last September. While the season was going to hell, Scooter hit .387 with a .438 OBP and 21 RBI in 26 September games.

* Not that any of you care, but my fantasy football season has been agonizing. It started with a trade for Greg Jennings, who proceeded to re-injure his groin and has been sidelined ever since. Then Danny Amendola went down with a rare collarbone injury. DeMarco Murray was torching the Baltimore Ravens before leaving with a foot injury, saddling me with a loss by .5 points. Finally, Jimmy Graham went down with an ankle injury. My team has the talent to compete for the title, but instead we’re just 2-5.

* Cloud Atlas looks bad ass. I have no idea what the plot is, but let’s be honest: Tom Hanks makes any movie watchable.

* Where the hell did that black woman on Dexter come from? It’s like, after Mike Anderson got shot, they realized they didn’t have any African-Americans on the cast so they just tossed in this chick.

* Has anybody ever seen a Boardwalk game piece in the McDonald’s Monopoly game? I’m pretty sure there have never been any.

* If Playstation 3 game lobbies are any indication, most of the American population is wicked racist.

* Want to bid on some memorabilia from Curt Schilling’s failed company? Sure ya do!

* It always depresses me when I watch movies from the 1990s and they show a gas station. Imagine gas prices being .95 cents/gallon again.

* Banger of the Week: Loose Lips Sink Ships by A Change of Pace

About TheWayIsHere

I’d like to think there is a lot to say about myself, but there isn’t. I founded Fifth Period Lunch with the intent on using the internet to spread gospel and the word of the Good Book. I thought He had a plan for me. Whoops. No, I’m just yanking your chain - I’m actually an atheist. Straylight Run’s John Nolan described both of our lives perfectly when he sang, “I know much more than I did back then, but the more I learn, the more I can’t understand. And I’ve become content with this life that I lead, where I drink too much and don’t believe in much of anything.” I’m married and creeping ever closer to the big 3-0. Despite that, I still enjoy acting like a child, to which my wife can attest. I enjoy microbrews, pinot noir, the Boston Red Sox, the New England Patriots and the Wake Forest Demon Deacons. I believe old people should be forced to take a driving test every year and I have a man-crush on more men than I probably should. Now you know.

One comment on “Sift Through the Brainstorm Debris – 10.23.12

  1. Steve Lavoie
    October 23, 2012

    Good issue but I’m gonna have to start charging you for ideas! Ha…just got home..watch for Wooly Bully tonight

Got something to say? Say it!

Click on a Writer. Read Stuff.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow Fifth Period Lunch and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Do it... do it now!

