Fifth Period Lunch

Trading carrots for chocolate pudding since 2012

Sift Through the Brainstorm Debris – 10.16.12

(By TheWayIsHere)

I decided it wasn’t fair for YetiVedder to have all the bullet-point fun, so I reckon I’ll join in on the fad.

What will you find in this weekly list? I have no freaking clue, but I’m sure it will all be deep and profound.

* After watching last night’s debacle on Monday Night Football, I feel a little bit better about the Patriots loss to Seattle on Sunday. However, there is still no excuse for it. In my mind, the game was lost at the end of the first half when the Seahawks decided to give us at least three free points. Instead, the Pats absolutely BLEW it. Despite having two timeouts in hand, New England wasted a good 15 seconds after the first-down play, then five more seconds following second down – pathetic clock management. Then, as we all know, the half was capped off by Brady’s intentional grounding call. Unacceptable.

* Is it possible to not have a single thought in your head at any given moment?

* So, that dude skydiving from space was sweet. I wouldn’t be shocked at all to see Travis Pastrana try to best him though.

* I’m playing in a fantasy basketball league for the first time in about six years. Should be pretty ugly. At least it will raise my interest level in the NBA.

* Presidential debate No. 2 is tonight. I will not be watching. Politics suck.

* That said, there was a very interesting article about Mitt Romney in last week’s Providence Phoenix. Scary stuff.

* What’s the most underrated invention of all-time? Remote control? Air conditioning? Toilet paper?

* Can we talk about this commercial for a minute? Who wrote this song and, more importantly, who thought this was a good marketing tactic? I can’t tell if I hate the chick “singing” or just feel bad for her. Maybe a little of both.

* One thing is damn sure though… that commercial pales in comparison to the original FreeCreditReport.com ad. I’m so happy these guys are back!

* I’m considering getting my real estate license. Any realtors out there have tips or suggestions?

* Caught this gem on Jeopardy the other day. Great job by Alex Trebek and his squad.

* Banger of the Week: Bury Your Head by Saosin

About TheWayIsHere

I’d like to think there is a lot to say about myself, but there isn’t. I founded Fifth Period Lunch with the intent on using the internet to spread gospel and the word of the Good Book. I thought He had a plan for me. Whoops. No, I’m just yanking your chain - I’m actually an atheist. Straylight Run’s John Nolan described both of our lives perfectly when he sang, “I know much more than I did back then, but the more I learn, the more I can’t understand. And I’ve become content with this life that I lead, where I drink too much and don’t believe in much of anything.” I’m married and creeping ever closer to the big 3-0. Despite that, I still enjoy acting like a child, to which my wife can attest. I enjoy microbrews, pinot noir, the Boston Red Sox, the New England Patriots and the Wake Forest Demon Deacons. I believe old people should be forced to take a driving test every year and I have a man-crush on more men than I probably should. Now you know.

Got something to say? Say it!

Click on a Writer. Read Stuff.

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow Fifth Period Lunch and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Do it... do it now!

