Fifth Period Lunch

Trading carrots for chocolate pudding since 2012

Starting Five – 8.16.12

(By TheWayIsHere)

People love lists. People also love to argue. So each Thursday, we’re going to give you a chance to read a list and then argue about it.

Go ahead… flex those muscles while sitting safely behind a computer screen in your mom’s basement. There’s nothing wrong with that.

Mom! Meatloaf! Fuck!

This week’s Starting Five is…

Sodas

5. Mountain Dew

There should be asterisk next to this, because Mountain Dew only makes this list when it comes from a can. Bottled Mountain Dew can go straight to hell! Anyway, I enjoy doing the Dew from time to time. Though it supposedly murders my sperm, Mountain Dew is a solid choice on a summer day or when you need a boost of energy.

4. Mug Root Beer  

Let me first say that I am a big fan of all root beers. It’s such an underrated soda pop, but I think it gets a bad rep due to its lack of caffeine. There’s nothing quite like a cold, frothy mug of root beer – whether it’s Mug, IBC, A&W or Barq’s. However, I think Mug has the best overall taste of the four – whether from a can or a bottle.

3. Vanilla Coca-Cola

My go-to summer soda. Once the weather starts getting warm, all other sodas go into hibernation and the vanilla Coke comes out. During the summer, I average about two cans of vanilla Coke a day – sometimes indulging in three or four. Vanilla Coke could easily be No. 1 on this list except for the fact that it’s a seasonal soda. Therefore, it cannot top the Starting Five.

2. Dr. Pepper

I’m still not convinced Dr. Pepper features 23 different flavors. The only flavor I can ever detect is deliciousness. Dr. Pepper has the perfect blend of taste with a little bit spice that tingles your throat ever so slightly on the way down. Simply put, it’s an awesome soda.

1. Coca-Cola

You just can’t beat the original. I’m a Georgia boy, with southern blood coursing through my veins… so Coke is like a religion to me. Most people drink coffee with their breakfast in the morning – I drink Coke. When waiters and waitresses tell me their restaurant serves Pepsi instead of Coke, I immediately order a water or a beer. As far as I’m concerned, there’s no better soda on earth than a cold Coke.

About TheWayIsHere

I’d like to think there is a lot to say about myself, but there isn’t. I founded Fifth Period Lunch with the intent on using the internet to spread gospel and the word of the Good Book. I thought He had a plan for me. Whoops. No, I’m just yanking your chain - I’m actually an atheist. Straylight Run’s John Nolan described both of our lives perfectly when he sang, “I know much more than I did back then, but the more I learn, the more I can’t understand. And I’ve become content with this life that I lead, where I drink too much and don’t believe in much of anything.” I’m married and creeping ever closer to the big 3-0. Despite that, I still enjoy acting like a child, to which my wife can attest. I enjoy microbrews, pinot noir, the Boston Red Sox, the New England Patriots and the Wake Forest Demon Deacons. I believe old people should be forced to take a driving test every year and I have a man-crush on more men than I probably should. Now you know.

8 comments on “Starting Five – 8.16.12

  1. Gonos
    August 16, 2012

    Love me some Vanilla Coke! I also like Diet Coke with Lime! Great list.

  2. mommyhatesme
    August 16, 2012

    Where the fuck is Crush orange soda? Also, classic Coke can go to hell.

  3. blucowboy
    August 16, 2012

    Love that Dr. Pepper is high on this list, although it is also the clear #1. Classic coke can definitely suck a D, specifically RC Cola’s.

    • TheWayIsHere
      August 17, 2012

      You silly, silly little man. RC Cola has absolutely nothing to do with Coca-Cola.

  4. Zo
    August 17, 2012

    Where is Sprite?

    • TheWayIsHere
      August 20, 2012

      Get outta here with your Sprite, Richard. Sprite is too sweet, too syrupy. I’d take Sierra Mist over Sprite any day of the week!

  5. Virginia Wino
    August 21, 2012

    Sunkist > Orange Crush

  6. SacDaddy82
    August 21, 2012

    No Sunkist!? You do realize it’s the only mainstream orange soda with caffeine in it, right? Other than Coke rightfully making the top spot, this list blows.

Got something to say? Say it!

Click on a Writer. Read Stuff.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow Fifth Period Lunch and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Do it... do it now!

