Fifth Period Lunch

Trading carrots for chocolate pudding since 2012

Apparently, It’s 1954

(By TheWayIsHere)

I was just made aware of this story floating around the interweb today:

PHOENIX —  Instead of playing in a championship baseball game, Paige Sultzbach and her team won’t even make it to the dugout.

A Phoenix school that was scheduled to play the 15-year-old Mesa girl and her male teammates forfeited the game rather than face a female player.

Our Lady of Sorrows bowed out of Thursday night’s game against Mesa Preparatory Academy in the Arizona Charter Athletic Association championship. The game had been scheduled at Phoenix College.

Paige, who plays second base at Mesa Prep, had to sit out two previous games against Our Lady of Sorrows out of respect for its beliefs. But having her miss the championship was not an option for Mesa Prep.

Paige’s mother, Pamela Sultzbach, told The Arizona Republic, which first reported the story, the team found out about the forfeit Wednesday.

“This is not a contact sport, it shouldn’t be an issue,” Pamela Sultzbach said. “It wasn’t that they were afraid they were going to hurt or injure her, it’s that (they believe) a girl’s place is not on a field.”

Officials at Our Lady of Sorrows declined comment. In a written statement Thursday, the school said the decision to forfeit was consistent with a policy prohibiting co-ed sports.

(You can read the full story here. Thanks to Jon Pelland for the lead.)

Are you serious, Our Lady of Sorrows? I wasn’t aware this was 1954 and all girls still “belong” in the kitchen.

Imagine being a senior on the OLS team and you have to forfeit the final game of your career, the championship game, because of a fucking “policy prohibiting co-ed sports.” I would be absolutely livid.

I’ve never seen Paige Sultzbach play and I can only assume she didn’t hit .479 with seven home runs this season, but it seems like OLS wouldn’t suffer too much with her on the field.

That’s besides the point though. The fact of the matter is, shame on Our Lady of Sorrows for this. Who cares if there is a girl on the field? Who cares if there are five on the field? Play the damn game.

Hand down, my favorite quotes from the story: “The very idea that such stereotypes are so strong, they’d actually forfeit a game simply because a girl was on the field. That’s ridiculous,” Maatz said. “Does she have cooties?’

About TheWayIsHere

I’d like to think there is a lot to say about myself, but there isn’t. I founded Fifth Period Lunch with the intent on using the internet to spread gospel and the word of the Good Book. I thought He had a plan for me. Whoops. No, I’m just yanking your chain - I’m actually an atheist. Straylight Run’s John Nolan described both of our lives perfectly when he sang, “I know much more than I did back then, but the more I learn, the more I can’t understand. And I’ve become content with this life that I lead, where I drink too much and don’t believe in much of anything.” I’m married and creeping ever closer to the big 3-0. Despite that, I still enjoy acting like a child, to which my wife can attest. I enjoy microbrews, pinot noir, the Boston Red Sox, the New England Patriots and the Wake Forest Demon Deacons. I believe old people should be forced to take a driving test every year and I have a man-crush on more men than I probably should. Now you know.

One comment on “Apparently, It’s 1954

  1. mommyhatesme
    May 11, 2012

    Bake me a pie please.

Got something to say? Say it!

Click on a Writer. Read Stuff.

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow Fifth Period Lunch and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Do it... do it now!

