Fifth Period Lunch

Trading carrots for chocolate pudding since 2012

Catching Heat

(By TheWayIsHere)

So this video has been making its rounds across the interweb today and it produced a fairly heated argument between myself and a buddy. According to my friend, if he was sitting at a Major League Baseball game and was lucky enough to catch a foul ball, he’d give it away to a random kid without question.

“You’re letting someone else enjoy the whole reason why the game is played,” he said. “I’m 25. I don’t need a fucking ball.” Friend went on to say that he’d rather buy a beer, enjoy that and make someone else’s day by giving him the ball. “He will never forget that story of generosity.”

I’m calling bullshit on every single count.

Maybe it’s because I’m a diehard baseball fan.

Maybe it’s because I’ve been to more Major League and Minor League games than 95% of the population and know that catching a foul ball is practically a once-in-a-lifetime occurance (unless you’re extremely lucky).

Maybe it’s because my father, who has been to more games than 99.9999% of the population, had the wherewithal to bring a foul ball home to his son rather than give it to a random kid.

If I’m catching a foul ball, you can bet your sweet ass that I’m keeping it. I’m not giving it to some whiny little bastard who will forget where it came from 20 minutes later. If anything, I’ll hold onto it and give it to my kid along with the story of how I ended up with the ball, who hit it and where it happened. Just like I still have the ball that my dad gave me – the ball Craig Shipley fouled into the stands during a Padres game at old Jack Murphy Stadium.

That random little kid has a lifetime of games to go to – a lifetime of chances to catch his own foul ball and share that story with someone he loves.

This is my ball, and it’s my story. You can’t have it.

About TheWayIsHere

I’d like to think there is a lot to say about myself, but there isn’t. I founded Fifth Period Lunch with the intent on using the internet to spread gospel and the word of the Good Book. I thought He had a plan for me. Whoops. No, I’m just yanking your chain - I’m actually an atheist. Straylight Run’s John Nolan described both of our lives perfectly when he sang, “I know much more than I did back then, but the more I learn, the more I can’t understand. And I’ve become content with this life that I lead, where I drink too much and don’t believe in much of anything.” I’m married and creeping ever closer to the big 3-0. Despite that, I still enjoy acting like a child, to which my wife can attest. I enjoy microbrews, pinot noir, the Boston Red Sox, the New England Patriots and the Wake Forest Demon Deacons. I believe old people should be forced to take a driving test every year and I have a man-crush on more men than I probably should. Now you know.

Got something to say? Say it!

Click on a Writer. Read Stuff.

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow Fifth Period Lunch and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Do it... do it now!

